4:11 Gears and highway travel???

Discussion in 'Transmission & Driveline Topics' started by mattvogt, Feb 12, 2008.

1. mattvogt

mattvogt Member

May 29, 2005
    Penfield, NY, USA
    Hello everyone, basically I am thinking through which route i want to go with a transmission. I have 411 gears in my rear end, and right now I have a TH350 and a rebuilt 350 with roughly around 350 horsepower. What can I do OTHER than change the rear end gears to drive on the highway, like everything that I have read says that 4:11's suck on the highway, and you really want like 373 or 342's if the car is going to be going that far.

I wouldnt mind a transmission swap, but I have pretty limited funds as Im a college student. This is a project, not my daily driver, so nothing needs to happen soon. I just want to start and get ideas about my project over the summer.

I would like a manual tranmission I think, like if its in my price range. I would obviously love a T56, like everyone, but I think its fairly out of the question at the moment.

Would a 4 speed do alright on the highway, or are the gears still to large to get up to around 90 mph?

I think Id like a 5 speed, but everything that I have heard says that they are too weak to use. I have seen the TKO's but they are a good amount of money, about as much as a T56. Any options are greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading this and thanks for the help.

Matt

2. theflash

theflash Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Feb 27, 2004
    Podunk, CT
    Most 4 speeds I have seen, still have a 1:1 ratio in 4th, so you're not gaining anything switching. I'd put at least a 28" tall tire on if you don't already have that (275/60-15 is a good example). How much driving do you actually do on the highway? I have 4.10's in my car, and it is singing on the highway, but I don't care since it's not my daily driver.

3. gordonquixote

gordonquixote Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Jul 18, 2006
    Tallahassee, FL
    +1 to waht Flash said.