406 Cam choice

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by dakotamc94, Nov 4, 2016.

1. dakotamc94

dakotamc94 Member

Jul 7, 2014
    Lexington, Ky
    Been awhile since I've posted but I was hoping for some input on this build. It's not my first rebuild or engine swap, but it is my first build in search of power.

So here's a rundown of my current situation. The car is an '81 Trans/Am, currently has a Goodwrench 350. I have a 400 in the machine shop receiving a .030" overbore. Bottom end is stock with the exception of KB 30cc dished pistons.

So my question is kind of broad. I need a direction for cam choice, carbueration, stall convertor and gearing as this car is completely stock. I'm not looking for long distance cruising or mpg. I'm literally planning on beating on this car on Saturday nights around town from stop light to stop light.

The transmission has been rebuilt using some upgraded internals to handle the abuse I plan to throw at it. Exhaust includes a set of Heddman full lengths to an x-pipe through a set of 40's. I was leaning towards 3:73-4:11 gears, running 265/75r15 rears.

My cam/carb choice is where I'm really unsure. I have a nice set of Dart Iron Eagle S/S heads that I will be using. They are the 165cc casts with 67cc combustion chambers. May not be the best head choice for this engine but it's what I have to work with for now on my shoe-string budget.

Sorry for such a long winded post but I wanted to cover all the bases for the best answers. Thanks in advance everyone!

2. 77 cruiser

77 cruiser Veteran Member

Nov 17, 2006
    Frostbite Falls MN
    Do you realize that head/piston combo is going to be under 9-1 compression?

3. dakotamc94

dakotamc94 Member

Jul 7, 2014
    Lexington, Ky