Dash Cluster questions

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Jreid2010, Jul 4, 2016.

1. Jreid2010

Jreid2010 New Member

Jul 4, 2016
    Arkansas
    Happy 4th! I'm new to this, 1st post. I have a couple of questions about the factory dash cluster. My temp gauge, clock and amp meter are not working.
    1) what wires run to amp gauge and where from. It seems as though it's hooked up but noting is reading.

2). Is the clock just 1 all time hot wire?

3). What plugs into the temp gauge, just the dark green wire? Currently nothing is hooked up but when I touch the terminals with my fingers they appear to be pretty hot.

Thanks for the help.

2. grzewnicki

grzewnicki Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Amp gauge is one black wire and one black wire with white stripe, that have female spade connectors with tan plastic covers, wires are 12 gauge I believe, these wires are separate from the cluster harness. Best to get rid of amp gauge and go with volt guage. Unless your doing a concourse type restoration. Amp guages carry a bit of current and have been know to cause fires if the wires get damaged. You can pick up a volt gauge that will go right in that spot. Then just find a wire that is hot with key on.

Clock has a two wire connector I beievel flat type, one orange one black wire. Daniel from Gauge marks (sponsor on here) makes an oil pressure gauge that can replace your clock, since most radios now have clock displays.

yes dark green wire for temp sender.

the printed circuit board on the back of the gauge cluster can go bad and give you problems with your gauges. best to get a volt-ohm meter and check all the paths for conitnuity. New one will run you about $65 from NPD, Classic or Ricks Camaro.

Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
  3. Gary S

Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

Apr 14, 1999
    Bismarck, North Dakota