$1000 '70 LS1/T56 swap

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by spav350, Feb 25, 2012.

1. spav350

spav350 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

OK.... not a straight up $1000 swap but a started unknown amount one, that started with $1000 for a complete drive train running. :) I scored a whole car ('99 Camaro with a T56 6 spd.) with 104k miles wrecked on drivers side still running and moving for $1000. I'm new to the whole LS ball game, and have somewhat searched for a swap kit, (i.e., motor mount brackets, clutch linkage, etc.) with no luck. Maybe I'm just overlooking the places that offer them... ??? My car has a TH350 in it, so I've got a lot of work to do to get this thing in. I plan on refreshing the engine with new bearings, rings, etc. so I don't have any issues after the install. Anyone have any other suggestions before I do the install? I'm also curious as to whether or not the rear and or front brakes on the car would fit my '70. The car has drilled and slotted rotors front and rear, headers, and I don't know what else. Someone put a little money in this car before they wrecked it. No much, but enough to get me excited. I'm pulling this drive train as soon as this rain lets up.:D

Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  2. spav350

One question I have right away is, would the headers in the donor, fit my '70?

3. XxWickedz28xX

XxWickedz28xX Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

$1000? You robbed them dude, thats a great deal! Good luck with the install.

4. 1971CamaroGuy

1971CamaroGuy LS Swapped 1971 Camaro

I'm not sure if the headers will fit, I have read that some have bought the pacesetter headers (I think that's it) and modified them. Maybe your lucky and yours are the same.

That's a good deal for $1000....I wouldn't call this a $1000 swap yet lol....expect to at least double that. But you have a good starting point since you have the whole car.

5. spav350