$1000 '70 LS1/T56 swap

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by spav350, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. sbca96

    sbca96 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,897
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, Ca
    My install of the Spectra tank in a later 2nd gen is now in the Sticky above.

    Tom
     
  2. spav350

    spav350 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, Tx
    So what are you thoughts on that tank and pump set up? Any issues like others have had, regarding loss of power when cornering or when level is below 1/2 full?
     
  3. newschool72

    newschool72 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    forsyth,ga
    Im running the FAST EZ EFI on my 72 with the external pump, and although i havent had any issues,YET, I think Im going to weld a CE sump to my stock tank with a baffle to help the system work better.
    If I am thinking right , I should be able to use the factory pick-up for my return line. That would move the return surge far enough away from the sump area.
    i will have to most likely build a bracket for the fuel pump to get it low enough, but short of a dedicated EFI tank, I think thats a good way to eliminate fuel starvation. I figure I can do the whole project for 100.00, but my brother in law is a welder. Figure another 60 bucks or so if you have to farm that out.;)
     
  4. JJFarmer

    JJFarmer Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    Lenoir City, TN
    I made a small baffle to go in my 76 tank and used the in tank pump. I have had zero trouble with mine and have ran mine down very low on fuel. Unless your doing your best drifting moves, I don't think you would have any issues.

    I used the Corvette regulator/filter assembly and my return dumps in on the pump base thru the old tank pick-up line.
     
  5. JJFarmer

    JJFarmer Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    Lenoir City, TN
    Yes, get rid it it.
     
  6. spav350

    spav350 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, Tx
    Just unplug and remove everything related to emmisions and reprogram the ECM? Is that it?
     
  7. camarochevy1970

    camarochevy1970 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Pretty much

    Only thing you really need are the front o2 sensors, but the rear sensors, the egr etc can all be removed and turned off in the computer via a tun
     
  8. spav350

    spav350 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, Tx
    sweet!
     
  9. camarochevy1970

    camarochevy1970 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    That's for emissions mind you, for the remainder of the engine, you need the map sensor, knock sensors, cam sensors etc.

    Just didn't want ya not hooking anything up and trying to run it ;)
     
  10. spav350

    spav350 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, Tx
    I knew all those had to be hooked up.. I was asking about the EGR and other related B.S.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.