396 / 402 BBC Performance and Converter selection comments wanted.

Discussion in 'High Performance Modifications' started by 73 Rs, Apr 18, 2017.

1. 73 Rs

73 Rs New Member

Hi,

1973 camaro 396.
    i am currantly rebuilding my small, big block motor and had some questions on what converter to go with, and if someone have a simular build motor, can say something about hp gestimates?. (i am new to old american cars)

The car will be CRUSING ONLY, and will never see a track.

The Block is a 1966, 396 & 030" over, should make a 402.
    Engine block casting number 3855061
    pistons are L2240N 030

Statick Mesured and calculated comp is 9,6

the heads are closed chamber and mesured to 104,6cc
    castings 3917215, oval ports.
    They have had some work done to them in the past, and valves where not stock.
    valves in the top now is inlet size 2,250 & exost 1,875

Cam going in is comp cam XE262H - 10
    rpm range 1300 - 5600
    duration @ 050 = 218 & 224, lsa110,

intake manifold is new type weiand stelth 8019, dual / single plane hi rise.

Exost is:
    Long tube headers going to 3" colectors, down to dual 2,5" exostpipes.

ignition is msd 7-2

the gearbox is a th400.

rear gears: i think it is 3,73

my converter has 1500 writen on it and assum that means 1500stall speed.

when i put the engine numbers in the comp cams camquest sofware, it recomends a stall speed between 2100 - 3100rpms.

so my 1st question is:
    is it worth canging my current converter for a 2100rpm stall, and will it have a big inpact on the drivebility of the car?. (remember cruising only)

Question 2:
    anyone that can say anything about aproxematly hp the Motor develops?.
    when i put the number in the comp cams sofware, camquest, i thought the hp ratings they put out sounded on the optimistic side. (430hp @ 5500rpm & 502ftlb @ 2500rpms)

Question 3:
    this comp ratio, 9,6 should allow me to run on pump gas without any problems?.
    (95 or 98 octane pump gas)

Attached Files: