ALL-METAL vs. Duraglass vs. welding???

Discussion in 'Body Restoration' started by malo68, Jan 19, 2005.

1. malo68

malo68 Veteran Member

Jan 3, 2005
    Providence, RI USA
    Hi guys. I'm I've got my car 3/4 stripped to bare metal and am getting ready for bodywork. I need to repair the roof-sail body seam. I've got some people telling me to go with a the aluminum filler "ALL-METAL" and some that say go with "duraglass" fiberglass filler for the seam. Has anyone out there used these products on theirs? Any recommendations?

Also, I've been reading about ALL-METAL and they say it can be used over spot welds. Has anyone used this on their quarter panels over the spot welds? I'm finding that MIG welding between the welds is a frustrating and tedious job (I'm an amateur/spot welds are about 1" apart). I want to do a good job and do it right but there are so many little pinholes and small voids after grinding the welds that seem impossible to fill. On the last one I did there was dirt in tiny crevace that turned into a bubble later on. I don't want this to happen again. I'm just looking to see if there's an equally durable (and easier) alternative to welding the complete quarter seam or is there one. I appreciate any and all opinions/advice on this. THANKS in advance!!! Malo

2. Rick WI

Rick WI Veteran Member

Jul 9, 2001
    Madison, WI
    If the seam is solid and tight All Metal would be my preference. It sands hard as a rock so don't glob it on. When I use All Metal I always rough shape with 80 grit on a DA. Once I have it blocked close I skim with lightweight filler for final blend. All Metal has no real strength against cracking along a loose joint, so it will crack if flexed.

------------------
    70 SS 454 CI Dynoed 684 HP, 702 TQ All Aluminium Fuel Injected Small Block , plus 200 - 500 HP NX nitrous system.

[This message has been edited by Rick WI (edited January 20, 2005).]

3. 468RAT

468RAT Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member