Anyone install a double DIN in a 2nd gen?

Discussion in 'Car Audio, Electronics & Security' started by MrTailLight, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. MrTailLight

    MrTailLight Veteran Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    Edison, Ohio
    Any pics out there of a double din installed on a 2nd gen camaro? I have a stupid discount on audio with one of our suppliers, so im about to line the ride with Kenwood, thought about installing a nice double din....

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mjoc

    mjoc Veteran Member

    Messages:
    3,511
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, Ca
  3. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Same here :D
    But then again I'm a loyal Kenwood enthusiast for 20 years now in car audio.

    I did have a thread 2 or so years ago on Double DIN options in 2nd gens.
    http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=187109

    Some people shared some images that they found. I think most options were
    in the console under the lower dash though. Year one had an option for it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. 1971CamaroGuy

    1971CamaroGuy LS Swapped 1971 Camaro

    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    161
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    How often are you going to drive your car? Personally I think a good single din will perform just as good as a double din. I think installing a double din in there is just wasted effort
     
  5. EricsZ28

    EricsZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Here and there...
    This was my plan before I decided to stay more original. Here is a local car (not mine) that I saw at a local car show. The owner was happy with his setup:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    I've always hated the boxy 79-81 dash, but in this case above.....
    I think it's a very cool looking setup.

    Sometimes alot of things we do are wasted efforts but we're dudes, and we like our toys
    Hell I'm putting a double DIN touchscreen in my work van......lol
     
  7. MrTailLight

    MrTailLight Veteran Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    Edison, Ohio
    I hardly ever drive the car, but its a toy and project with my boys. The real answer is WHY NOT INSTALL A DOUBLE DIN IF YA CAN!

    i like some set ups i have seen, so i think i know what i will be planning.
     
  8. MrTailLight

    MrTailLight Veteran Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    Edison, Ohio
    This is my plan, i have no reason not to do it this way, i think it looks much nicer than the kit that installs it under the dash. seems more functional to me this way really, let alone being able to see it better.
     
  9. MrTailLight

    MrTailLight Veteran Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    Edison, Ohio
    I have my double din installed in the dash, it sure looks good, ill post pics of it and the Kenwood system going in. about half of the trunk is done, just the time to finish it.
     
  10. EricsZ28

    EricsZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Here and there...
    Can't wait to see pics [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.