Body structure repair advice

Discussion in 'Body Restoration' started by bigdav160, Nov 2, 2014.

1. bigdav160

bigdav160 Veteran Member

I've never been a professional body man but I'm not new to fixin' and painting either. This is my first time repairing a Camaro body so I have a number of questions.

I've tried to follow a couple build threads but I get confused if I see a new full quarter panel in the background, then a partial quarter getting sanded and then a partial with door jamb installed being primed. :confused:

Perhaps I should start my own build thread but I'm not a good writer and even worse with a camera so I think I'm just going to post up here.

I knew when I acquired my car (nothing more than a shell) that it had been previously hit (and repaired) in the right rear corner. There wasn't much rust but poorly aligned deck lid and spoiler. I thought I could just tweak and paint. After closer examination I realize the old repairs were poor. Under the three layer of metal in the right rear trunk floor, there is a lot of brazing and some welding so I think it had been repaired in the '70's and then later someone tried to improve on that repair with a MIG.

Question #1, being unibody, is it OK to replace panels while on the rotisserie? I know it's a no-no for body on frame cars.

Question 2. I decided to remove the quarter panel to get a better look; can I save this inner wheel house? There's pretty good curve to the support brace going to the rear deck. I think the outer wheel house has been cut in half and spliced back together. I'll probably will just replace it

Question 3. Do these inner replacement panels require as much work to fit as the outer panels? I'm afraid once I remove the trunk floor, right rear frame rail, etc that I'll lose all reference and the rest of the sheet metal/doors will never fit right.

Attached Files:

2. chauncey1970

chauncey1970 Veteran Member