CCC - ALDL - Check Engine Light

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by KMcHale, Aug 25, 2019.

1. KMcHale

KMcHale Member

Finally got the paper clip stuck into positions 4 and 5 (the two to the far right) and got some codes. Found a link with the codes but wanted to double check to make sure I have the right definitions for the codes that I am getting:

13: Oxygen sensor circuit open or no activity
    23: Intake air temp sensor error (low temp indicated)
    34: MAP sensor circuit error (signal low indicating high vacuum)

These codes sound right? Also is there a way to clear these codes and see what comes back? I have been ignoring the light for several years because the car runs fine (for a 305).

As always and help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

2. BonzoHansen

BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

Disconnect the battery. That will clear the codes

3. RickM

RickM Veteran Member

This ^

Clear the codes and then see if they come back. They could have been in there for a long time.

4. KMcHale

KMcHale Member

OK cleared the codes by disconnecting the battery. Reconnected the battery tried the paper clip thing to check for codes before I started the car again. Nothing not even the code 12. Started the car the light came on so I shut it off and did the paper clip thing. Now I only get the code 23. Troubling thing is that am I not supposed to get the 12 code 3 times and then the trouble code 3 times?
    and then back to the 12 code 3 times and then the 23 code 3 times and loop from there?

5. RickM

RickM Veteran Member