couple questions about holleys

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by cutty, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    i took my 750 vac apart to clean and rebuild, upon taking the front bowel off this thing fell out, is it needed? also my holley has had it choke milled off, i had it hooked up and strangely enough turn the key and would run, no fighting to start it or even stalling, is this ok, i know it sounds odd but every 1 ive had like this, i had to rev till it got warm, ive checked and rechecked for vac leaks and nope nothing( not complaining just think its odd)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    508
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012
  3. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    plugs look good, ive been scratching my head on that 1, how does that thingy attach, its my first holley to ever have 1
     
  4. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    869
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    thanks for the information, and nice rebuild section, i took the bowel off and it fell out,
     
  6. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    ok guy it rebuilt and now back on, still giving a little bit of trouble, the 1 thing i did noticed is my ported vacuum port has vacuum at idle, what could cause this? transfer slots open to much? or??
     
  7. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    869
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Use manifold vacuum at the base below the front fuel bowl.
     
  8. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    i know that,
    im trying to figure out why i have vacuum on my ported vacuum side.
     
  9. Jim Mac

    Jim Mac Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    tucson az USA
    could be your throttle is open a bit too far. jim
     
  10. cutty

    cutty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    ontario canada
    i set the Secondary throttle stop screw at a 1/2 turn out, should i try 1 full turn? as of right now, i cant tune it with the mixture screws, as its doing nothing right now, can turn them all the way in and does nothing,runs the same,vac gauge shows 8 inchs of vac at idle, its not jumping around( stays steady)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.