cs130 enough for electric fans and fuel injection?

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by 76z28, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. 76z28

    76z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    bakersfield
    As I am getting ready to put electric fans in I am worried my altenator won't be enough to run them.
    I have a stock cs130 running an edelbrock fuel injection system, just a blower motor(for heat only so minimal use), and headlights currently.

    Is it enough to run those plus dual electric fans from spal?
    They are supposed to be 39-45 amps.

    Not sure I have the room for a cs144.
     
  2. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    907
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    A stock CS130 should be rated at 105 Amps.
    I doubt you will have issues with running electric fans as many of the cars which were equipped with these alternators used electric fans.

    If that rating from Spal for each fan?
     
  3. 76z28

    76z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    bakersfield
    No that is for both
     
  4. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    907
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    That alternator should work fine for your car.
    If you find the headlights dim when the fans are running... You can upgrade that alternator with one which uses the same case/mounting but puts out around 140 Amps.

    Make sure you use properly rated relay(s) and wiring for the fan circuits.
    45 AMPs is a pretty heavy load and the standard (cheap) Bosch style relays won't handle that kind of power.
     
    76z28 likes this.
  5. 76z28

    76z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    bakersfield
    After researching that is what I will do.
    I will give it a try.
    I will be using two relays and running them independently via the bedrock computer.
    One will come on at 190 the other will come on at 198.
    They are 20 amps each roughly so I can use the Bosch style relay for them, 1 each.
     
  6. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    907
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    You can try it but be sure you keep them away from other wiring harnesses or anything else flammable under the hood.
    And... Make sure you check the relay plug/harness amp rating.

    I've seen a Bosch relay handle the load of an electric fan but the plug/harness for the relay was a molten, smoking mess within a few minutes of run time. :eek:
     
  7. 76z28

    76z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Yeah I have relays coming with it I think so I'll use those. That or I'll use 40 amp relays which shouldn't get hot. I'll run 6 gauge from alt to battery as well
     
    John Wright likes this.
  8. John Wright

    John Wright Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    14,637
    Likes Received:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Rustburg, Va
    I think my alternator is the CS130 (stock on the 3rd gen GTA) and it handles my MS3 with EFI (Walbro 450L fuel pump) and two cooling fans that are on 40a relays each and each are fused with 40a fuses.
     
  9. 76z28

    76z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Yeah that is the cs130, so lets hope! I think it should be sufficient since my old corvette had one and it had dual fans and fuel injection, abs, etc and never had a problem.
     
  10. Fbird

    Fbird Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    556
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    atlanta, ga
    no problem IF.....you wire it correctly! A single wire conversion will NOT give you the performance you want/need. If you find the performance is just shy...you can always add a small resistor to the "sense" wire to maximize the alternator output. do NOT jump the sense wire straight to the output post!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.