EFI screenshot of TPI running

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by kik_start, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    9,320
    Likes Received:
    457
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Fingers crossed!
     
  2. kik_start

    kik_start BANNED

    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    gone crazy
    well...new ECU come in...tried it and still get the SES light.

    I guess I need to turn it off and forget it's there.??


    one or all of these changed to set causes the code

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  3. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    9,320
    Likes Received:
    457
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Kik, at this point I'm at a loss as to why you're getting the error code. But like we talked about, let's just go ahead and start calibrating. We'll attempt to get your fuel (VE) tables in line and see how much better driveability you can get. If it turns out that it's running to your satisfaction, then we can simply ignore the error code.
     
  4. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    9,320
    Likes Received:
    457
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    John, did a little searching around on the net.

    Check terminal D3 of your ECM and make sure it's grounded. This can produce a code 41. Strange thing is that I don't see D3 on the schematic, but I've read a couple of places that say it needs to be ground.

    http://www.chevythunder.com/code_41.htm

    The only other thing I can think of is that your chip guy accidentally used a V6 memcal to burn your calibration.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  5. John Wright

    John Wright Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    14,716
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Rustburg, Va
    Cut the wire to the SES light...LOL


    I'm kidding, don't do that.
     
  6. John Wright

    John Wright Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    14,716
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Rustburg, Va
    D3 and D10 look to me to be connected to the same ground on the schematic.
     
  7. John Wright

    John Wright Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    14,716
    Likes Received:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Rustburg, Va
    TPI trouble swapper's guide over in trouble shooting..it gives two things that can cause a code 41.

    1) tach signal interrupted
    2) wrong or faulty memcal, or cylinder select error
     
  8. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    9,320
    Likes Received:
    457
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    He's getting engine rpm on the data output, so I wouldn't suspect an issue with the tach signal.

    If his chip guy got hold of a V6 memcal and put a V8 calibration on it, the car would run, but it'd get a code 41.


    Kik, maybe go on the thirdgen site and see if anyone has one of the following chips they can give/sell you. All of the following are V8 memcal broadcast codes that vary on engine size, gear ratio, and transmission. But it doesn't matter because we're going to erase it and put your calibration on top. What matters is that they're V8 chips. If you can get one for free or really cheap, it'd be a good way to prove that your chip guy used the wrong memcal. In which case, maybe you could get some/all of your money back??

    These came from http://www.chevythunder.com/prom_bcc_1990.htm

    ASNH
    AXYB
    AXYC
    AXYD
    ANHY
    ANJB
    ANJH
    ANJJ
    ANJR
    ANJS
    AWFZ
    ATNW
    ATNX
    ATNY
    AWLS
    AWLT
    AUJP
    ANHT
    ANHU
    ANHW
    ANJA
    ANJF
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  9. kik_start

    kik_start BANNED

    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    gone crazy
    When I was on the phone with Craig, he verified that the prom I have is for a V8.
    I sent him a message letting him know the new ECU didn't solve the problem and he replied that he was going to send a new G1 for me to try,...I hope that fixes it because I'm out of ideas.
     
  10. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    9,320
    Likes Received:
    457
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    John, it's not the PROM. It's the rest of the memcal. That is to say, if you look at the memcal you got from your chip guy, it's the stuff on the other end of the memcal (there's some other circuitry besides the PROM chip). That's the stuff that determines whether you're dealing with a V6 or V8 memcal.


    THere's one sure-fire way to settle this once and for all. PM me your mailing address and I'll send you a spare V8 memcal of mine. It's a known good chip because I've run it dozens of times myself. Once you get it, test it out with your Moates chip and one of the calibration files I sent you. If the code 41 disappears, then it was DEFINITELY your chip guy's memcal. After that, simply mail it back to me and then buy one for yourself (I'd let you have it, but I want to keep my spare just in case).
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.