gas fuel tank venting, return lines, charcoal canister

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by efinger, Nov 9, 2012.

1. efinger

efinger Veteran Member

I thought it would be helpful to consolidate some info Ive recently read concerning fuel tank venting, fuel return lines and the charcoal canister. Im no expert so correct me if im wrong and Ill edit the post.

Camaros came with two types of gas tanks, one type had two lines coming off of it, and the other had three.

The three-line tanks have a fuel supply, fuel return line, and the line to the charcoal canister. The two line tanks dont have the return line.

You dont generally need to run a return line if youre running a mechanical pump.

You do need one (highly recommmended?) if you have an electrical pump.

You must vent your tank in some way or you will have fuel delivery problems.

To vent your tank you can either leave the line hooked to the charcoal canister or you can install a small breather filter on the end of the line somewhere and remove the charcoal canister. You may smell more fumes if you do this.

You can also use a vented gas cap to allow air into your tank.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  2. clutch74

clutch74 New Member

Hi efinger. I know this is an older post but I have a question about this and you seem to know what you're talking about.
    I have a 1971 Camaro SC that I am just about ready to drop my 489 into. I am using the FAST EZ-EFI setup and I have to have a return line. When looking at my tank, it has 4 line ports. The inlet port is on top of the tank.
    There is one on the drivers side pointing forward that I assume is for the charcoal canister. And there are 2 pointing forward on the passenger side of the tank. Is one of these to for a return line? Any info would be greatly appreciated!

3. Rene Melten

Rene Melten Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member