Gear Drive to Double Roller

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by Tinfoil, Jul 29, 2018.

1. Tinfoil

Tinfoil New Member

Jul 29, 2018
    Hi, first post here. I have a Blueprint 396 Stroker I just bought off a buddy. It's never been ran except for the dyno at Blueprint. It came with a gear drive on it, which I want to get rid of.

My cam is: Roller
    .510 Intake .520 Exhaust
    230 Intake / 236 Exhaust duration
    @ .050, 110 ° lobe separation angle

My question is (sorry if it's stupid), is there anything extra I have to do, other than pulling the gear off and putting on the new double roller? The reason I ask is, behind the gear on the cam you can see the block has been ground a little (see pic). Is that because the cam is a hydraulic roller?

Also, when I go to a double roller timing chain; do you have any suggestions of type or brand? Thank you for any input. I'm a little new to the engine building community, thus, I may be asking rhetorical questions here.

Attached Files:

2. COPO

COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Sep 15, 1999
    Ontario, Canada
    When I installed a gear drive on a friends L78 I just removed the double roller parts and installed the Pete Jackson gear drive. Just do the reverse to go back. I've bought Edelbrock timing set and their gears are stamped GM. You can't go wrong with it or go with Cloyes brand. Cloyes also makes them for other companies such as Lunati. The grinding maybe was a clearance issue.

3. Scott Sievers

Scott Sievers Veteran Member

May 22, 2018
    SE Iowa
    I have always used Cloyes. August of 2010 I shucked a cloyes double roller on my mud truck 383. October 2018, last run of the year my buddy shucked the double roller on his sbc 427. We both went to the gear drives, the quiet ones with no noise... okay, they still make noise but are not as obnoxious as the ones machined to make noise.