HEI ground wire?

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by bourbon_scotch, Jan 31, 2017.

1. bourbon_scotch

bourbon_scotch Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Jan 10, 2003
    USA
  2. Gary S

Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

Apr 14, 1999
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    My feeling is that it is a bit anal to think you can out-engineer the engineers who designed this stuff and it works flawlessly for 40-50 years. Time can be better spent doing other things like having lunch.

3. Hey G

Hey G Veteran Member

Mar 18, 2012
    SC
  4. APEowner

APEowner Veteran Member

Dec 9, 2013
    Albuquerque, NM
    As an engineer I appreciate that sentiment. In this case of the linked reference in the OPs post however, we're talking about a combination of modified parts that could cause a problem.

In that system as it was original designed the ground through the distributor body through the intake is fine. In a lot of original applications there's a ground wire tied to either the intake or the alternator bracket that's bolted to the intake that ensures a good ground.

When you start looking at aftermarket parts, paints, anodizing and powder coating on parts that didn't have coatings originally and different engine grounding schemes it's easy to end up with un-grounded or poorly grounded parts. The electric choke heater on some carbs is another item that sometimes ends up not working due to an overlooked need for a ground.

Rene Melten likes this.
  5. tom3

tom3 Veteran Member

Aug 1, 1999
    ohio
    Sometimes in electronics too many grounding points can do a lot more damage than solve problems. Ground looping, reverse currents etc. Wouldn't hurt to put a ground wire from the dist. to a cleaned spot on the intake, not to the firewall.

6. Hey G

Hey G Veteran Member

Mar 18, 2012
    SC
    Why not the firewall?

7. Fbird

Fbird Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Feb 12, 2011
    atlanta, ga