Hydraulic Flat Tappet Question

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by CoastieJoe, Jun 4, 2019.

1. CoastieJoe

CoastieJoe Member

I am currently measuring for pushrod length on an old 350 that I am rebuilding. I am reusing the hydraulic flat tappet lifter that were in it from a previous rebuild and noticed that the exhaust lifter is very soft and compresses very easy when trying to measure the push rod length. just screwing down the rocker nut compresses the lifter. all the other lifters seem fine except this one. I'm thinking maybe I have to fill it up with oil ? but I've never done this to a lifter before?

2. Cardinal

Cardinal Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Here's how I was taught: cut the top off a clean gallon milk jug. Put all the lifters standing up in the jug and put new fresh oil in there to over the top of them. Take a pushrod and push each lifter's plunger down and let it up until NO air bubbles come out of the. They are now primed.

NOTE: make sure you use assembly lube on all the cam's journals and lobes, on each end of the pushrods, on the rocker balls, tip, and pocket where the pushrod goes into!

CoastieJoe likes this.
  3. Cardinal

Cardinal Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

I sell a product called an Adjust-A-Cover. I have one for standard small block cylinder heads (a tall valve cover and a short/standard height valve cover), and center bolt heads valve cover.

http://nastyz28.com/threads/new-standard-height-adjust-a-covers.318463/#post-3632147

They all come with 8 knockout plugs and directions.

They are all $60 plus shipping and come with directions on how to adjust SBC hydraulic lifters with the engine running.

PM me if you are interested in one.

Standard Height SBC Adjust-A-Cover
    [​IMG]

Centerbolt valve cover.
    [​IMG]

Tall valve cover.
    [​IMG]

CoastieJoe likes this.
  4. dave@ztech

dave@ztech Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member