Just finished Lt1 swap..

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by Baseballstud, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. 3_z28camaro

    3_z28camaro Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    Thanks! Would also happen to know if I can use the original LT1 induction but convert it to use an HEI distributor rather than that no good opti-spark.

    Thanks again!:bowtie:
     
  2. fbodyfreak

    fbodyfreak Veteran Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Location:
    Briceville, TN
    the LT1 cam has a gear for a conventional (rear mount) distributor. I have heard of people drilling a hole in the back of the intake to use HEI, but I havent seen it firsthand, or know exactly how it would work. I would imagine that it would work ok, though. I know a carbureted LT1 intake has a hole in the rear for a distributor. Hope this helps a little, maybe you could do a search on LS1tech.com, or LT1tech.com
     
  3. Kricka

    Kricka Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Skellefte. SWEDEN
  4. 3_z28camaro

    3_z28camaro Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    I have been doing a bunch of Google searches on replacing a opti-spark with an HEI, and I found that site. Looks interesting, but they talk about using a TPI wiring harness and ECM. So all of that kind of confuses me.:confused:
     
  5. Mizzouri

    Mizzouri Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Will the f-body LT1 accessory drives work with our frames or do we need to go with the Vette setup?
     
  6. tgw323

    tgw323 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Location:
    Roanoke, Ind.
    I think the A/C compressor hits the crossmember. You can delete it if you don't want air.
     
  7. 3_z28camaro

    3_z28camaro Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Acton, CA
  8. sbca96

    sbca96 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,897
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, Ca
    Not sure why you would want to go "backward", but its up to you. There is
    nothing wrong with the Opti setup. Most of what you hear out there is people
    just repeating the same BS they heard from someone who "knows". It is true
    that the early Opti were prone to getting moisture inside them, but they
    fixed that with a vacuum harness in 1995. The earlier cars can be modified,
    BUT ... whats the point? I have a 1993 Camaro Z28 with the non-vented
    opti, it went 154,000 miles before I replaced it because the car was running
    poorly. People on the Impala forum kept saying Opti for the slightest misfire
    so I bought one from the Dealer - 638 bucks! OUCH. It didnt solve the issue.
    Turns out it was the Accel coil I have installed a few weeks before had failed.
    If you DO need a new Opti, it can be bought through "Dal" or Summit now. Its
    in the $200 dollar range, not much different then a good HEI. The Opti allows
    the computer to adjust the spark infinately, so its a nice feature. My 95
    Impala SS went 172k on the opti, and my wifes 95 Camaro has 165k on the
    original opti. I dont know of many HEI distributors that can go 150k without
    ever being opened up for anything. Again, NOTHING wrong with the Opti.

    As for the 700R4. You could use the cable from a 1993 Camaro Z28. The 93
    was the last year of the "cabled" trans, and the first year of the LT1. But, I
    would use the 4L60E if you can, its a MUCH better shifting trans.

    Tom
     
  9. 3_z28camaro

    3_z28camaro Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Acton, CA
    I have come to terms with the Opti-Spark and I will go with it once and if I get my LT1. I have seen the bracket for the LT1 and 700R4 on eBay, I will get one as soon as I need it.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  10. BC's71'

    BC's71' Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Location:
    North Chicago Suburbs
    Lokar makes brackets as well that adapt a TV cable to a LT1 ThrottleBody linkage. They sell through Summit but their catalog is on their website www.lokar.com or something like that

    That is the route I plan to take assuming cost is fair. Otherwise I may look into the 93 F-body linkage.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.