LS and Trans discussion

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by cshorty14, Mar 20, 2019.

1. cshorty14

cshorty14 Member

I have to start of by saying I am a 24 year old non-engine/drivetrain savy individual, but I'm am trading mechanic labor from a GM Mechanic of 25 years for labor pouring concrete for a garage lift and a driveway. That will be later this summer, but with swap meet season happening and what not id like to start purchasing pieces ill need. Engine, transmission, rear end, etc...

I am a recent college grad and dont have the largest amount to throw at this project but id say id be willing to throw 4k-5k at this entire project, but i want to hear your inputs on what is ideal for a mild 400hp ls build.

As of now I'm thinking of picking up a 5.3 ls gen iii and cam and lift it to reach close to 400 crank with the EFI way rather then pick up a stock 6.0 LS. trans i feel a 700r4 is cheaper and easier to use over 4l60e but again let me know your idea on that. rear end im thinking a 10 or 12 bolt with 3.83 posi gears.

again i know little about this topic and can use any and all ideas on this. just trying to put my 1970 Camaro with a very tired out non original 350 with an equally tired out th350 and a limited slip weak rear end with a reliable update that has both some horsepower but also not looking to build a monster.... yet.....

2. mrfleet12

mrfleet12 Veteran Member