LS Header options

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by flak monkey, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    17,358
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yup, you got to be mindful of that! I had that problem with dynatechs LS headers. The driver side floor pan required some massage to fit the O2. DSE headers were a miracle for me....even though they are $2k!
     
  2. 76_TypeLT

    76_TypeLT Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,389
    Likes Received:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    $2k for headers, DANG!!
     
  3. AlbertaZ28

    AlbertaZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
    Which side isn't fitting? Both of them? I finally got around to putting mine on and so far have the drivers side in and the O2 sensor fits perfect.
     
  4. AlbertaZ28

    AlbertaZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
    Which spark plug wires did you go with? Speed Engineering recommends MSD. The stocks will obviously not work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  5. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    17,358
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    Why not?
     
  6. AlbertaZ28

    AlbertaZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
    The drivers side header is too tight on the front plug. The boot is right against the header. Apparently the MSD are able to be bent to fit.
     
  7. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    17,358
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    You'll need a DEI sleeve or similar. No plug wire will avoid a tube that's simply too close to the plug
     

    Attached Files:

  8. AlbertaZ28

    AlbertaZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
    Those would probably do the trick and probably much cheaper than new wires. Thanks
     
  9. smoothyrogers

    smoothyrogers New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    miami,fl
    I have an ls3 in an 80. Speed engineering longtubes. Under 300 and they fit with no modifications.
     
  10. 1977nova

    1977nova Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Location:
    canada
    Would you have any photos? How is the ground clearance?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.