LS LQ4 Truck engine in 2nd gen

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by f-body, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. KJZ28

    KJZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Brewsterico, New Fail
    I should have mentioned that I will most likely be sticking a turbo setup on it. Does that change anything?
     
  2. Due North

    Due North Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    Back from the dead.... I'm trying to find out of the truck accessories can run off of the FBody brackets, or do I need to purchase accessories as well? I may need to get creative but hoping that there's someone who's been able to get the LQ4 accessories to fit with a little 'massaging'. Thanks!
     
  3. hot72rod

    hot72rod Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    Phenix City Al / Columbus Ga
    I'm using the truck accessories with after market fbody brackets. Have you installed the motor yet? The reason I ask is there is a hole that you have to drill and tape in the truck block to be able to use the fbody brackets.
     
  4. Due North

    Due North Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    No, the motor is heading in for a good once over yet, and to be honest, some work left on the front end to have it ready to drop in. Trying to get my ducks in a row so once the time comes, it's as smooth a process as possible.

    I came across this today for PS and alternator... no AC going in at this point.

    http://kwikperf.com/lsx_high_mount.html

    And this...

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/LS-Truck-Alternator-Power-Steering-Pump-Bracket-Accessory-Kit-LSX-LQ4-LQ9-/131596706648?hash=item1ea3c66358&vxp=mtr

    Picked up an LS1 intake so I can fit under the stock hood without height issues given the LQ4's intake height. (yes, LS6 would've been better....on the wish list down the road once I get everything else done.) Good thing I don't need 'readers' yet because the research going into this project is much deeper than I first thought.... but it will be worth it at the end.... I hope... lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2015
  5. Camaro_73

    Camaro_73 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Location:
    Belton,TX
    I used the ICT relocation kit. It was 168$. Put the alternator on the top passenger side and moved the power steering pump up and away from the driver side head. Although the mtor is bolted into my Monte Carlo now its still the same as far as the power steering pump being very close to the gear box and upper control arm but nothing interferes
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
  6. Madmike72

    Madmike72 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Location:
    Walpole Massachusetts
    I have an LQ4 in my 72. The stock truck accessories all fit with the exception of the ac compressor. I'm sure there are relocation brackets available. The truck intake fits under a cowl hood. If you end up having clearance issues with the big truck alternator you can swap in a f-body alt. It bolts right in but is smaller in diameter. The truck pan fits but hangs to low. A f-body pan works perfect.
     
  7. hot72rod

    hot72rod Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    Phenix City Al / Columbus Ga
    MadMike 72 are you useing truck brackets and if so what motor mounts are you using?
     
  8. Madmike72

    Madmike72 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Location:
    Walpole Massachusetts
    Yup I'm using all stock truck accessories and brackets and I'm using Moroso solid mounts with Holley adapters.
     
  9. Madmike72

    Madmike72 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Location:
    Walpole Massachusetts
    I choose solid mounts because my turbo is solid mounted to the subframe. I didn't want my hot side pipes to get flexed around to much. I also have solid subframe bushings so it will probably rattle my teeth out if I ever get it finished.
     
    house67 likes this.
  10. Due North

    Due North Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    Any clearance issues with the truck PS pump? I am strongly leaning towards the ICT setup so it's good to hear it fits. Any pics of the engine bay you could share?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.