LS1 Fuel pump swap into 2nd gen tank

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by anesthes, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. anesthes

    anesthes Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, NH
    Around 9" is what you need. The later tanks are kind of odd shaped (see the picture) and I'm taking advantage of the "tall" side.

    I'm assuming based on what I've seen from pictures, and the fact that production specs say the later year cars had a higher fuel capacity that the tanks are at least 2-3" taller.

    -- Joe
     
  2. studsZ28

    studsZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    Great post!!! I just did about the same thing for mine. Except I cut out the opening for the factory fuel sender as well, then fitted a sheet of 20 gauge steel and burned it in. Very happy with the results!! Thank you for doing it first and postin pics!
     
  3. reedld

    reedld Veteran Member

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Painted Post NY
    Joe,

    Have you completed the electrical connections? I know the fuel pump wires are grey and black (heavier gauge black)....the regulator connection has 3 wires...and it states 5 volts on the regulator. Can you help with any of this? Thanks

    I just purchased a new tank and want to get started on this.

    Leon


    [​IMG]
     
  4. anesthes

    anesthes Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, NH
    You don't use the 3 wire connector. That is to report back to the ECM. It's to detect pressure changes in the fuel tank for the EVAP.



    -- Joe
     
  5. reedld

    reedld Veteran Member

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Painted Post NY
    Thank you Joe.
    I'll be posting pic/ progress as it happens.

    Leon
     
  6. ReDDruM

    ReDDruM Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Location:
    central california
    so this wont work on an early tank?
     
  7. anesthes

    anesthes Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Salem, NH
    Not tall enough.

    -- Joe
     
  8. jd_mcse

    jd_mcse Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Location:
    Sunny, FL
    anesthes

    Based on what you remember of the return line internal baffle. Do you see any issues with using this vent line as a return line?

    Thanks,
    JD
     
  9. reedld

    reedld Veteran Member

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Painted Post NY
    I did the swap last year.....I posted results somewhere...but obviously not on this thread.

    Here is my setup
    [​IMG]

    Center line is a vent..right most line is the return..hope this helps.
     
  10. 75Maro

    75Maro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    Trying to revive an old thread here but do any of you guys have the wiring to pump done? I don't have a pin out of the 4 wire connector on the pump to know what needs power and so on, thanks for any help
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.