My Barn Find

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by Termin8r, May 22, 2010.

1. Termin8r

Termin8r Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

I am not too good with computers, but here goes.

So, two weeks ago my friend Mike calls me and says his cousin is moving to Texas and his wife doesn't want him to take his old cars with him. Yeah, so what I say? Well, Mike says one of the cars is supposed to be an old camaro thats been sitting a while and do I want to go see it? "SURE!" Turns out it's like a mile from my work when we drive up to this old garage.

[​IMG][/IMG]

We go in the side door and climb around a 1920's truck to see this:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

Mike thinks its a '71 (He has a '67 RS) but i don't really care what year it is, my excitement is overwhelming and I start to check it out. The body was real straight so I check a few things. It says SS 350 on the fenders. SS on the grille. 12 bolt rear end. 300hp 350. 4 speed. Low back buckets with headrests. I write down the VIN. I go home and check the internet and discover THIS website. Through here I discover that it's a 1970 car.
    I love your site. Fantastic. You guys are really something. The wealth of information and knowledge and the brotherhood of the members is priceless. Kudos to all the great work and great cars so many of you have. Then, a week later I meet the owner, Frank. He tells me he ordered it in the beginning of 1970 and waited 3 months for it to arrive. Put some mag wheels on it and had his car. Had a fender and some paint work done in the 70's, but otherwise stock. Well, those mags leaked a little air and he got sick and tired of putting air in them and then sometime in 1982 he got busy, parked it one day, and that was that. 28 years later, here we are. We make a deal and I just bought myself my first camaro.