My pitman arm is hitting the alternator...suggestions?

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by mikes70, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. mikes70

    mikes70 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    livermore, ca
    Hey, have any of you in doing an LS swap have the pitman arm hit the lower mount alternator? Gen 2 1970 Camaro, 04' GTO LS1
    [​IMG]


    Thinking of finding a dropped pitman, and i might be able to go up an inch with the engine, the tranny is a T56 without the tunnel cut...might have too, ewe...

    Any thoughts, thanx, Mike
     
  2. Protour-Camaro

    Protour-Camaro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    California
    Mike, Very common problem for power steering cars. You need the TransAm pitman arm with a drop. I had the same issue, swapped the arm and plenty of clearance.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/70-81-FIREBIRD-TRANS-AM-TA-FORMULA-STEERING-BOX-PITMAN-PITTMAN-ARM-7809576-/390589035593?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Year%3A1981|Model%3AFirebird&hash=item5af0ebb449&vxp=mtr
     
  3. mikes70

    mikes70 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    livermore, ca
    Sweet, thanks for the quick replay. Will do...
     
  4. orkin

    orkin Veteran Member

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you need the matching idler arm?
     
  5. 2ndGenCrazy

    2ndGenCrazy Veteran Member

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Are you using original pedastal, or newer clam shell mount?
     
  6. ryeguy2006a

    ryeguy2006a Veteran Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Like what was said above, use the Trans Am with a drop pitman. And to answer the question, no you don't need to change the idler arm either. I have a straight idler and Trans Am drop pitman arm with no problems.
     
  7. Protour-Camaro

    Protour-Camaro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    California

    I didn't swap my idler arm either. I don't even think there even is one. I searched and searched...they all have the same idler.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  8. mikes70

    mikes70 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    livermore, ca
    Thanx for the replies, i am going to order one from Summit as we type...
     
  9. Protour-Camaro

    Protour-Camaro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    California

    Be cautious ordering new....The part I listed is rare and I don't think you can get a new one.
     
  10. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    I have the same motor in mine.

    Unfortunately back in 2006 I didn't know about the dropped pitman arm option.
    I relocated my alternator to the top right side of the motor with a $500 alternator kit.

    No KY......

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page



  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.