Need Help LT1 Cranks but will not start

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by 3_z28camaro, Apr 19, 2009.

1. 3_z28camaro

3_z28camaro Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Hey guys, I have been working on my LT1 swap into the '71 for quite some time now and finally I tried to fire it up but is cranks and will not start. I am suspicious of the computer and the harness as the guy who modified it, Jeff Roberts, was far from the best. Horrible customer service.

I have 42 pounds of fuel pressure at the rail but there is no spark and there is no signal at the injector harness plugs. The optispark, coil and ICM are all new. The engine was rebuilt also.

I am out of ideas, please help.

2. Knuckle Dragger

Knuckle Dragger Mayor of Simpleton Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

I have no experience with the LT1, but if you have no injector pulse, and no spark it's usually a cam or crank sensor. Do you have a RPM signal on the scanner when you crank? Are you absolutely sure you have the power wires correct? I chased a no spark for about an hour on my TPI before I realized I had the engine running power on a circuit that was not hot while cranking.

3. 3_z28camaro

I am sure I have all the wires going to the right places. I have checked everything and traced wires to see if anything was the problem there. As far as I know the 1994 LT1 does not have cam and crank sensors.

I am in the process right now of figuring out how to test the optispark to see if it is sending a signal.

By a RPM signal do you mean getting a reading on one of those scanners that hooks up to the diagnostic connector? Sorry for my ignorance.

4. Knuckle Dragger

Knuckle Dragger Mayor of Simpleton Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

Your sensor is most likely the optispark itself. On TPI it's the distributor that gives the signal to the ECM.