Project-Z's Lifelong Dream Finally Coming Together

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by Project-Z, Aug 5, 2009.

1. Project-Z

Project-Z Veteran Member

Oct 9, 2001
    Auburn, MI USA
    I don't post a lot on the forums, but I keep up with reading on all your build posts. I am not a professional car guy, and this is my first full on restoration with all of the work being done by myself. I am currently finally getting to building a '72 RS Z28 and have been inspired by all of the builds here. I took some ideas from all of the body carts I have seen here, and built my own for the early second gen. I used the fisher body manual, and I added 10" to each vertical dimension. It sure made it a lot easier to crawl around during the sand blasting. I used 2" x 3" 3/16 wall tubing for alot of the frame, and the uprights are 1-1/4" schedule 40 pipe which is almost 2" outside diameter. I used 5/8" all thread as my leveling bolts, and after I move the jig, I can re-level it in about 5-10 minutes using my digital level to 0.0 degrees. The digital level certainly helped get all of the uprights plumb.

I even added tabs on the rear most crossmember to locate the hole through the frame rails where the shackle bushings mount. I also added another cross member for the rockers to sit on while I removed the complete trunk floor and frame rails. This added crossmember also has holes drilled and tapped to locate the torque boxes in their correct locations. I also made bolting points for the rear most subframe mounts by using a 3" long piece of the 2 x 3 rectangular tube turned on its side. I also added two 2 x 3 vertical uprights to catch the fender mounting points on the firewall for when I removed the subframe mounting points from the firewall.

I missed not having tie down points welded to the jig when I took the car on a trip to my office/shop where I sandblasted it a few weeks ago.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here is the new rear assembly almost ready to go in.

[​IMG]