Saving the Import/Broker Fees on Parts from USA

Discussion in 'Canadian Owners' started by Rayden2009, Aug 11, 2019.

1. Rayden2009

Rayden2009 Veteran Member Gold Member

Hi Guys,

Ive been working on my car since 2016, and have spent many thousands on parts from the US. As you probably know, the cost of these cars as a pro-touring hobby is through the roof. I live in Calgary, AB, and I noticed a large discrepancy in duty fees bringing parts across the border. UPS seems to be the worst offender. They bend me over a barrel with every purchase. Fed-Ex seems much more reasonable, but there is no rime or reason.
    I just purchased a type II power steering pump from Saginaw MI, which was to be delivered by UPS (the worst offender in all categories. I cringe every time a company uses them in both my personal and professional life, but I digress). A few days after it shipped, I received a notice that I owe them $135 for taxes and import/brokerage fees. Digging deeper, $40 of that was taxes, the rest "import/brokerage fees". $95 for import fees? That was the straw that broke the camels back. I did some research online and learned a few things, mostly from this site:

https://trueler.com/2010/09/13/ups-brokerage-fees-total-scam-fraud-cheating-avoid-it/