short lean AFR spot after 0-> WOT

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by pomartin, Nov 16, 2019.

1. pomartin

pomartin New Member

Hello,

This is my first time dealing with car carburetor so please bear with me :)

Edit: it is a 1980 Z28

The problem is there since I have seen the car for first time, abou 6 months ago. Now I came to carb tunning and I'd need a bit of help.
    I have a problem with lean condition which lasts for a second when I perform no throttle to WOT quickly- AFR switches from 14:1 to 17:1 and in 1 second drops back down to rich values (12-13:1).
    If I open throttle to WOT slowly this does not happen.
    If I open throttle from 1/2 throttle to WOT quickly AFR rises a bit, to around 15:1 and then drops to 13:1.

Please take a look at video of AFR on youtube (vac. secondaries blocked):
    best seen lean spot:
    slow acceleration:
    another video:

AFR at idle is around 12:1, a bit rich but I can not manage to make it idle in gear otherwise.
    Primary jets are 77 and secondary 83.
    Squirter nozzle size is 31 (mounting screw is not hollow) and carb has pink color (3 holes) pump cam installed, bolt in middle hole.
    There is no clereance between pump and lever, also pump does not bottom out.
    I have tried with power valves (carb is boost referenced) from 2.5 to 6.5 but they do not affect lean condition at WOT.
    I have blocked vacuum secondaries and lean spot at WOT is still present, therefor I think there is a problem with primaries.
    I sized up jets to primary jets 86 and secondary 86 and blocked power valve- result is overall richer mixture but change in AFR is still there in conditions descriebed above, but the leanest point is in this case a bit richer.
    Squirter in primaries shoot fuel out instantly when throttle lever is moved.

Is this a squirter and pump problem? Would bigger squirter make any difference?
    Current squirter size is 31.

Motor is SBC 383 stroker.