So I opened a cam of worms, now I'm nervous!!!

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by QUAKE_WARS, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Okay so I absolutely need a bearing, so my next question is.....

    Do cranks all have this pilot bushing "stop" and proper diameter hole for the pilot bearing??
    Because what I'm guessing here is, mine HOPEFULLY has this, and I just need
    to drill out the center of the crank for the input shaft to go deep enough.

    I've read quite a few people have done this by hand......so I'd think you'd have to be DEAD ON
    if it wasn't to prevent the bushing from rotating out of whack and binding up.
     
  2. PolarBear

    PolarBear Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    I dont see how this would be possible, the concentricity would have to be really close (not an engineer so I dont know how much but maybe one thousands?) or the input shaft would rotate and be out of alignment.

    Your car is all together now? You cant just kinda go check? I would image even though it is an (Olds, right?) would still have the provisions for the pilot bushing even though you r car is an auto. I think a crank is a crank, at least where Chevy is concerned. My 88 GTA Auto had the provision for the pilot and I would imagine all chevy is like that
     
  3. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Yeah my car is in my driveway all together and driveable right at the moment.

    I'm piecing together the parts to do the swap.
    My T56 is here.....just trying to piece together the rest and ensure I know EXACTLY
    what I need to do before I pop it up in the garage in March-April

    A guy on the Olds forum did this and had to drill out his crank , so I'll have to ask him I guess.
     
  4. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    Machines shops can drill crank snouts for balancer bolts (early SBC had press on balancers) with the crank in the engine, I don't see why they can do the back of a crank. **speculation alert**

    Of course it will probably need to be out of the car. Or maybe just the trans needs to be out.
     
  5. jakeshoe

    jakeshoe Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,880
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Make up a jig, and let the crankshaft be it's own "engine lathe", set up a cutter bit and machine the crank with the engine running ;)
     
  6. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    I'd think the engine vibration wouldn't allow that idea Jake. :D

    Maybe I'm wrong......speculating too.
     
  7. jakeshoe

    jakeshoe Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,880
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    It would actually work if you could make a jig to hold the cutter firmly enough.
    The vibration isn't going to be that much and the crank isn't going to be moving (except rotation) very much in the block. It would work well enough for the accuracy you need.

    But it would cost more in time and materials to make the jig than to pull the engine and crank and do it on a lathe.
     
  8. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Well I got my answer off the Olds forum.
    So I guess I'll be fine.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  9. PolarBear

    PolarBear Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    That doesnt look too bad, I guess the input shaft sticks through the bushing a little?
     
  10. QUAKE_WARS

    QUAKE_WARS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    No portion may be used with or without permission
    Well I just put in the PTFB solid bushings in..:)
    It gave me about 3/4 extra clearance everywhere.
    I would almost have not needed to massage my tunnel
    if this was the first thing I done.

    So before your swap. Replace those worn out bushings!!! :bowtie:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.