Stock 79 Z28 Engine Mods

Discussion in 'High Performance Modifications' started by queue, Aug 7, 2019.

1. queue

queue New Member

I have a stock 79 Z28 and am considering some engine mods. I would like to limit the modifications to heads, cam and intake while maintaining the stock hood clearance. Thoughts?

Thanks!

2. Francesco

Francesco Veteran Member

Hello! Im not an expert and far from it. You have members in the forum who will help you with your question. I will share my experience with you and maybe that can help. I also have a 79 z28 white but with T-tops. If your like me and looking for a mild street performance machine and keep the old school engine look with hood clearance then I suggest a low rise intake like the performer from edelbrock 2101 for example (the one I have and it looks stock). I read that Vortec heads are a good and not expensive improvement and you can find used ones for a great price. As far as cam goes, im not an expert. Mine is not original, its a performance cam but I don't know which one it is. I have been told by a few gearheads that its not stock by the sound it makes. Hope it helps, surely other members will comment shortly. Have fun working on your engine pal!

3. Francesco

Francesco Veteran Member

Do you still have stock headers on the engine? If you do, then it would be better to change them for long tube headers. Youll get more mid range to top end power. It will help a lot for performance.

4. Zspoiler

Zspoiler Veteran Member

Just what exactly what you want to do with the car? You could start with a Eldelbrock Performer .Headers with 2 1/4 exhaust and a set of mufflers.There is an article at this site.To make your hood scoop functional. Then as you can afford it a good set of aluminum cylinder heads and a hydraulic cam and kit. With an MSD type box . Then have it tuned to up. I have a 1979 Z-28 and this is the way I started .Mine more extreme now. Good luck to you.

Attached Files:

5. CorkyE