Vortec intake and gasket to Vortec head alignment.

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by jeff swisher, Apr 28, 2018.

1. jeff swisher

jeff swisher Veteran Member

I always check things and I am new to these Vortec heads. I have some 906 heads.

But i am not new to porting or getting things to line up.

These aftermarket intakes pose an issue.
    At least the one I got. It is a Jegs dual plane.
    This will be a long read but bear with me I have pictures to explain things and show you how to get it right.
    I have a feeling the misalignment may not only be this intake but others and this could be the issue many have with failed intake gaskets.

First issue are the holes that bolt the intake to the head they are .473" diameter.
    The bolt is .310" diameter.
    I can move the intake back and forth on the heads .160".
    That throws off the intake port alignment.

gasket match 906 004.JPG gasket match 906 005.JPG

Those are pictures of where the gasket will ride with the intake all the way back against the intake bolts and all the way forward against the intake bolts.

You ask HHHMMM Does the distributor care where the intake is at.
    Not on this intake ..as the hole is larger than the factory GM iron intake hole and the distributors are much smaller where they go into the hole.

You get that overhang on the beaded gaskets and you will for sure get a leak eventually.

Now if I split the difference the intake lines up to the ports just fine.

How do I know what the difference line is when plopping the intake down onto the heads.
    Good question as the intake gaskets can move on the head also and how would you know.

I trim the gasket so it is flush with the front of the head and this is my reference point so i know the gaskets are lined up with the ports on the head.
    A picture for you.
    Notice the arrow pointing at the trimmed area.. that spot is flush.