Wanna swap my 700R4 to a 4L80E behind my 5.3LS

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by DirtyScotty, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. mrvedit

    mrvedit Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Sorry for the delay.
    Just a local driveshaft shop (Ann Arbor Driveshaft) made it. There are many such shops around on major highways to service trucks.
    The strength of the driveshaft depends upon the diameter and thickness of the tubing and the strength of the u-joints and yokes.
    IIRC I was told a stock driveshaft has .040" tubing thickness and mine is .060 (or perhaps it is .060 stock and mine is .080).
    Pricing was $275 for the new driveshaft or would have been just $90 to shorten and balance the stock one.
     
  2. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    This is why IMHO it makes more sense to just put the modern motor in there with it and use the factory computers that can be modified.

    Factory computers are always on Ebay for $100-$150 plus the $$ to do the mods is still less then the cost of a standalone trans module.

    Painless even makes harnesses for these now too.
    http://www.painlesswiring.com/faq.php?SearchCat=4.8L - 5.3L - 6.0L
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  3. gregs78cam

    gregs78cam Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Location:
    Spirit Lake, ID
    If your 5.3 is EFI with the factory PCM, then it is probably already capable of controlling the 4L80E. At the most you might need to have the PCM reflashed.
     
  4. mrvedit

    mrvedit Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I could be wrong, but from what I understand, you need more than a "tune" of the PCM, but rather a different OS "Segment" which contains the different tuning tables for the 4L80E.

    http://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic-transmission/699277-whats-needed-4l60e-4l80e-swap.html

    http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?10779-4l80e-segment-swap!!!

    I understand that if you have HP Tuners, that you can ask for the OS segment from the vendor.

    Others claim to have done it without a new OS segment:

    http://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic-transmission/1181364-4l80-tune-no-longer-required.html

    BTW - There are several recent threads on Ls1tech of people who have switched from either a T56 or a 4L60E to a 4L80E and had faster ET times; that seems to be the consensus even.

    http://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic-transmission/1505902-et-difference-between-4l60-4l80.html

    Assuming my 4L65E holds up all year, I plan to switch to a 4L80E next winter.
     
  5. DirtyScotty

    DirtyScotty Veteran Member

    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Caledonia. Ont. Communist Canada
    I wish the wiring was still in the factory pcm to be able to run the trans but the company that modded the harness eliminated the wiring for the trans. I would basically need a new harness.
     
  6. mrvedit

    mrvedit Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Oh, that's too bad, but explains your posts.
    Several one-man-shops advertise modifying stock harnesses. I suspect it might cost $200 for them to mod your harness to add the trans wiring and connector. Perhaps the people at ls1wiringharness.com would do it for you.
     
  7. Mike1970RS

    Mike1970RS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Location:
    Monroe CT
    Adding the wiring to the harness should not be that big of a deal . You can get all the connector's you need from say www.eficonnections.com and wire it up yourself . EFIlive will let you do segment swaps with jumping through hoops like HPTuners (unless they changed) .

    And a aftermarket controller is not a 1000.00 dollars , not even close http://www.summitracing.com/parts/TCI-302820/
     
  8. jakeshoe

    jakeshoe Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,877
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2000
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    You could just order a 4L80E add on harness from Speartech, pin it into your PCM connector, and run with it.

    We developed the method of running a 4L80E using the 4L60E strategy/tune/segment at my shop. It has since become a fairly well known method and works well. In some cases better than the 4L80E tune.
     
  9. wyant777

    wyant777 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    council bluffs ia
    I am currently gathering parts for my LS3 swap and was kind of wondering also. I am thinking of doing the GM performance parts kit that comes with ecm, harness, throttle pedal. oxygen sensors ect. would this kit also be able to control a 4l80e with an add on harness?
     
  10. mrvedit

    mrvedit Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    As you may know the GM "Connect and Cruise" with LS3 includes a 4L60E, but the Supercharged-LS3 includes a 4l80E. I suspect they both use the same PCM, just a different OS-Module depending upon the trans.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.