Wiring Help Please!

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by gts78ta, May 18, 2013.

  1. gts78ta

    gts78ta New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Alabama
    Im installing a LM7 into a 78 T/A and I have a plug and play harness from PSI. My issues are that the harness came with its on alternator wire built into the harness and I need to know how I tie the exsisting alternator wiring into this, wiring is not my cup of tea Im lost. And I have a Sanden a/c compressor and Im trying to tie this in to existing wiring. Any help would be great.
     
  2. 71flh

    71flh Veteran Member

    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
    I have no direct knowledge, but often new harnesses are set up for later alternators.

    Early alts had a connector with the terminals like this ||, while later ones were --. The later are internally regulated and often rated at higher current than earlier alts.

    So if the new harness is wired for the newer alt connector, troll the pick a part yard for the correct alt.

    Why buy a new harness and start hacking on it. You bought a harness because the old one was hacked.

    Goo mad electrical for more info.
     
  3. gts78ta

    gts78ta New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Alabama
    I dont think I was to clear. I have the right alternator already I was looking for info on what to do with the stock alternator wiring, is it needed or deleted is my question. If needed where and how to tie it in. Thanks for the reply by the way. Im getting close to firing this thing up and trying to tie up lose ends.
     
  4. Rene Melten

    Rene Melten Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Blind Bay, B.C.
    Are you saying that your harness for the alternator has one wire and the alternator accepts three wires? Or visa versa? This is common these days, we can solve this.
     
  5. gts78ta

    gts78ta New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Alabama
    Yeah my harness has one wire that is in a plug designed for 4. I need to know if my stock alternator wires tie in to this plug somehow.
     
  6. AlbertaZ28

    AlbertaZ28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
    I have the GM harness, it came with the plug in to alternator and I ran a new 10 gauge power wire. I could have used the factory one but it wasn't long enough. The only part of the factory harness I re-used was the starter wires. It all works without and problems.
     
  7. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Doesn't sound very "Plug n Play" if you're having this much of a problem figuring out 1 wire. This is probably why you should call whomever you bought the harness from that's not so easy or return it. My .02

    My guess is you have a 4 plug weatherpack connector with only 1 wire into it from your "plug and play" harness .....correct ?? If that's the case, it's not going to work correctly. You need 3 wires into a plug for that alternator to charge correctly. It's either a CS130 or CS144 look them up.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  8. gts78ta

    gts78ta New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Alabama
    Thanks I'll look them up
     
  9. sevitz5

    sevitz5 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Middle Point, Ohio
    I had the same issue on my swap....just plug in the alt, and run a 8ga. wire from the post on the back of the alt to a 30 amp fuse block (local stereo shop), then from the block to the + post on the battery. Works perfect, and you can delete all the original old alt wiring. (mine only had 1 wire in the plug and play harness as well. I am reading 14-16 amps on my gauge....works as it should)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.