1979 suspension upgrade vs new Vette

EdMan

Jun 13, 2015
Hot Springs, AR
I was wondering how well a complete suspension/steering upgrade to a '79 Z would compare to the handling of a new car such as vette. Such as 4 wheel coil-over shocks, new a-arms, brakes, 4 pt rear-in, larger wheels, etc.
Will a newer car just out perform a completed updated 78-81 Camaro. Wondering if its worth spending a lot of money to still be out performed by newer cars.
What you all think? Just FYI I am a newbie to this stuff so doing a lot of reading.
Thanks in advance!
Eddie

DB Z28

Veteran Member
Nov 30, 2003
Fond Du Lac
Save your money a new vette stock will run circles around our second gen unless you heavily modified your car and that will cost almost as a much as a new vette

Z28PILOT

Veteran Member
Lifetime Gold Member
Oct 8, 2009
Emerald Isle , NC
DB Z28 said:
Save your money a new vette stock will run circles around our second gen unless you heavily modified your car and that will cost almost as a much as a new vette

Yup......to make a second gen handle like a C7 would take more money that the C7 would cost if you had to pay to have it done.

C7 is a pocket rocket . Whole diff ball game .

EdMan

Jun 13, 2015
Hot Springs, AR
Well that's not what I wanted to hear. But it is hard to beat the looks of a nice old school Camaro!!! I was thinking of tearing down the Camaro and start from scratch with suspension/brakes/steering with LS engine and maybe 5 speed. It would be nice to have a old school Camaro that handled well with some power. Still might go down this route. I just love the looks of Camaro's.

grzewnicki

Veteran Member
Lifetime Gold Member
Dec 9, 2009
Gordon from Jacksonville Fl