1980 Z28 Project on a budget

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by kenstir, Aug 20, 2010.

1. kenstir

kenstir Veteran Member

Hello All.

Great site. I have been looking for months now learning information. Finally took time to join. Thought I'd share my project and progress or lack there of sometime. I will provide pix (If I can figure it out) and explanations when possible. Work at a car lot selling cars (I know what your thinking) and am limited on time to work on car and to do this. Will update when possible.

I have a 1980 Z28 automatic hardtop. No power windows. Bought car from listing on Craigslist. Had pictures sent to me. Looked great, except hit in rear quarter panel. Car was 300 miles away. Owner agreed to meet me half way if I guaranteed I would buy the car. A man of my word (yes, i said car salesman for a living), I met him and purchased the car. To say the pictures and descriptions were misleading, would be an understatement. I picked up in the dark, could at least tell it was not as described, but kept my word and bought the car. Still looked ok, and a good solid project. Maybe paid a $1,000 too much, but that was part of my learning experience. Have enjoyed it so far, but have much to go.

Please don't criticize too much. Not going for show car, just want a fun driver car. Not original, not perfect, just something to occupy my time (I call it therapy) and hopefully make a great car in the process.

Thanks for looking at my post.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 21, 2010
  2. kenstir

kenstir Veteran Member

Started with interior. Needed dash, rear package tray, all interior panels dry rotted, seats looked good but were dyed and sticky (nasty). Also the wire support underneath gone. Just didn't like the blue. Wanted a Black interior.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  3. cbeasley

cbeasley Veteran Member

Welcome to the site and the car looks pretty good to me and cant go wrong with a 80 or 81 ;)

4. kenstir

kenstir Veteran Member