400 SBC in 4/5th gen

Discussion in 'Camaro Questions' started by locke2904, Apr 28, 2019.

  1. locke2904

    locke2904 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    central, louisiana
    This seems like it may be the most ridiculous idea possible, but... will a 400sbc fit in a 4th or 5th gen camaro?
     
  2. dave@ztech

    [email protected] Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,645
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    It should , with several mods, but why would you, when the engine that does fit, will make double the power, easier, then the SBC 400
     
  3. rchydzik

    rchydzik Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 1999
    Location:
    Colbert, WA USA
    It should fit in a 93-97 fbody with the LT1. The low hood will preclude any sort of carburetor, so you would need a low profile fuel injection manifold. I agree with Dave, an LS swap would be much easier.
     
  4. locke2904

    locke2904 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    central, louisiana
    I put a 350 in a 2008 camaro in 3D for a college project.

    I have a 400 sitting around in a mangled 78 camaro body, (torqued the crap out of it). Figured I may attempt my project irl. I can’t find another 2nd gen and can’t afford a first gen. Plenty of 4th and 5th at the jy.
     
  5. Rich Schmidt

    Rich Schmidt Veteran Member

    Messages:
    4,285
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Location:
    Denville NJ
    The distributor will be the biggest problem. I don't know about on a 5th gen but on a 4th gen it is a no go.
     
  6. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,727
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    The problem is the motor slightly tucks under the cowl. The distributed and any carb set up would not likely be easy to retro swaps. Maybe if you put a TPI set-up on it, might help
     

Share This Page