4th Gen Radiator in 2nd Gen LS Swap

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by James_slowmaro, Feb 16, 2020.

  1. James_slowmaro

    James_slowmaro New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    I have been researching through a couple sites and have read mixed reviews about putting a 4th gen camaro radiator and fan assembly in a second gen. What all is needed for this swap? Also where does the steam line go to on the 4th gen rad?
     
  2. Green hornet

    Green hornet Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    384
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    I put the 4th gen fans in but not the 4th gen radiator. The fans were an easy install no mods needed. Now if you currently have a the small radiator you will need to upgrade to the larger radiator and that will also requires enlarging the opening in the core support.
     
  3. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    18,010
    Likes Received:
    778
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    It’s 2020...you can buy a “LS” style radiator that’s a direct bolt on for a 70-81. Steam line and the hose connection are in the correct place.
     
  4. GNC Rick

    GNC Rick Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    check this out, same radiator project Zed Sled(you tube if not familiar) used in its LS swap of a '78Z...best deal going that i could find
     
  5. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,683
    Likes Received:
    602
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    Same here, easy swap. You'll need to install relay(s) for the fans and some type of thermal controller.
     
  6. Green hornet

    Green hornet Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    384
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    Instead of a relay set up I used a dc pulse module controller. It was easy to set up. Power in, power out, ground and temp sensor in the cooling fins.

    1EA3AD90-CB26-4C52-99FC-C65F29C70A5F.jpeg
     
    75Maro and BonzoHansen like this.
  7. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,683
    Likes Received:
    602
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    That looks neat, can't say I'm much on the electrical side. I have a ProFlo 4 that controls (provides a ground) for dual fans. Also have a third relay that grounds both when I turn the A/C on. Would that gizmo work for me?
     
  8. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    19,955
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    You wouldn't use the efi fan controls at all if you used a dcc.

    I have as dcc, it's fantastic
     
  9. Green hornet

    Green hornet Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    384
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    Here is the link for the controller. I believe it will work for you and the A/C. I don’t have A/C but I remember something in the directions about setting it up for A/C.

    The neat thing is, it turns the fans on gradually in regards to temp. The hotter the engine the faster the fan speed. As the temp reduces the fan speed reduces.

    http://dccontrol.com/
     
  10. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,683
    Likes Received:
    602
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    Thanks, I'll certainly take a look at that.
     

Share This Page