AC Pro for initial AC servicing ??

Discussion in 'Camaro Questions' started by badazz81z28, Feb 10, 2019.

  1. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,951
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    I have all the stuff to do it the traditional way, but AC pro looks simplistic and I don’t have to worry about left over cans or weight of the AC,

    Anyone do this before?
     
  2. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    913
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    what system are you running?
     
  3. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,951
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    Vintage Air
     
  4. ULTM8Z

    ULTM8Z Veteran Member

    Messages:
    10,112
    Likes Received:
    913
    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I imagine they're just like CAA... put in 24 oz and be done with it? In which case, it seems to me that any can of R134a should be fine? On mine, I just got two 12oz cans and dumped it in. I back checked the pressures to verify and they were good.

    Just verify that your compressor comes pre-oiled, in which case, ensure you get refrigerant that doesn't have any added oil.
     
  5. twozs

    twozs Veteran Member

    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Location:
    hopewell jct ny
    No vaccum ?
     
  6. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,951
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    No I would evac the system like usual. Just instead of hooking up my manifold and loose R134 cans....use the AC pro with the low pressure port/gauge/hose can in one.
     
  7. twozs

    twozs Veteran Member

    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Location:
    hopewell jct ny
    you’ll still have to weigh the charge . I doubt that 1 or 2 cans plus oil will turn out to be the exact weight , but you may get lucky . You’ll need a set of gauges to pull a vaccum anyway and there are brass fittings to connect a regular set of gauges to a regular 14 oz can of gas . You can get a 14 oz can without the funny top for about half the price .
     
  8. twozs

    twozs Veteran Member

    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Location:
    hopewell jct ny
    C09DB948-1197-4E20-9A50-C453F78C1022.png and that’s the can of AC pro without the gauge
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  9. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    20,951
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama
    But how do you know how much to put in? VA has a specified amount, but they don’t know how long all my hoses are or what size compressor im using.
     
  10. twozs

    twozs Veteran Member

    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Location:
    hopewell jct ny
    Hose length loss is unimportant it’s so small . Probably about a 1/8 of an oz. your only using 1 hose . Fill with correct amount in the directions . You have to be very close . Compressor only holds a fraction of the charge mainly oil . That’s why sight glass charging is the best way . You’ll know if it’s overcharged as it will flood the compressor with liquid Freon .
     

Share This Page