Adding memory, laptop, question

Discussion in 'NastyZ28 Gamers & Computer Gurus' started by tom3, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. tom3

    tom3 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    13,390
    Likes Received:
    983
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1999
    Location:
    ohio
    Laptop took a dive, finally figured out it was a bad memory stick, one of two. Took it out and it works but not near up to speed. So on this Toshiba with 2gb SDRAM, 1 gb each module, can I add one new 2 gb module with the original good 1 gb, or should I take out the remaining stick and just use the new one? 800mhz pc2 6400 DDR2
     
  2. gregh

    gregh Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    You'll have to check Toshiba's website for the exact spec's but with that age of a machine, I'll guess it only supports 2 gigs total ram. It may not even recognize a 2 gig single stick.
     
  3. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,857
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
  4. tom3

    tom3 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    13,390
    Likes Received:
    983
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1999
    Location:
    ohio
  5. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    I'd still do the upgrade even if it's only going to see 3.5GB.

    RAM is a "Crucial" element to a faster PC.

    Here, if you have XP Professional you can use 4GB Tuning.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
  6. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,857
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Tom- if you want that thing to REALLY fly, pick up one of the SSDs with the install kit- an extra $20 or so, allows you to ghost the existing drive to make the swap a 45min painless deal.

    I put a 64GB Crucial M4 SSD in my wife's Inspiron laptop (bought spring 2006), and boot time went from 2 min to 30 seconds!

    *Disclaimer- I work at Micron, which makes Crucial products. They are some of the best out there, though, so I have no problem recommending.:)
     
  7. ATM

    ATM Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Location:
    Morris, Illinois
    I just installed over 100 pairs of Crucial 4GB kits, and not one of them was bad. That is good in my opinion. Just because Windows doesn't see more than 3.5 Gigs, doesn't mean that it doesn't get used. I read an article on that very thing years back in a computer magazine.
     
  8. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    True.

    Absolute best and untouchable "bang per buck" upgrade you can do to any computer to speed it up.
     
  9. tom3

    tom3 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    13,390
    Likes Received:
    983
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1999
    Location:
    ohio
    Put the 2 gb module in the open slot. Windows picked it up and showing full 3 gb ram. Old laptop is back to normal, if not some better. Thanks for the help!

    See an ad for Crucial memory at the bottom of the page by adchoices. Little bit scary sometimes.
     
  10. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Almost every website or forum out on the internet scans what is typed and delivers ads to you related to your inquiry.

    It's just how the web works these days, that's how they make some of their $$$.
    You can use CCleaner to keep your browsers history, cache, and cookies clear.
     

Share This Page