Advancing cam w/bushings

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by Dogwater, Nov 25, 2015.

1. Dogwater

Dogwater Veteran Member

Chevy 357cu. in. W/Comp Cams XE268H
    Everything runs great but I'd like to move the power band or when it comes on cam just a bit lower in the rpm's. Right now I have Comp Cams black bushing on the timing sprocket, this put the Cam straight up. If I use the 4° bushing (advancing) will this bring the power band down a couple of hundred rpm's? Right now it comes on cam starting at 3500 rpms. I've never used timing bushings before. I know I will loose some top end power buts that's OK for now. I've read that changing to a 2° didn't do much, thought I'd try a 4° first or should I go more than 4°?

2. CorkyE

CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Think I'd call Comp Cams and ask them. Advancing the cam should lower the power band, but... Have all engine, drivetrain, and vehicle info available when you call.

3. middleagecrisis

middleagecrisis Veteran Member

Advancing the cam 4 degrees isn't going to make a noticeable difference in your engine's performance range. Did you degree the cam (with a degree wheel) when you installed it? I ask because that cam should come on a lot earlier than 3500 rpm. That cam should be off-idle up to 5500. I've had name brand timing gear sets that weren't even close to straight up, never would have known if I hadn't been using a degree wheel.

4. Damon

Damon Veteran Member

I'm with middleagecrisis on this. That cam should be hittin' pretty good well before 3500. Ignition advance curve (centrifugal advance) can have a big effect on low rpm torque. And, of course, if the carb ain't tuned up very tight.....

5. hhott71

hhott71 R.I.P 11/19/18 Lifetime Gold Member

Been there and done that.

Couldn't tell a difference driving it or in the time slip.

Save your money.

6. muscl car

muscl car Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member