Air cleaner too small, what should I do?

Discussion in 'Camaro Questions' started by rusty76, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. rusty76

    rusty76 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    Clarksville Tn
    With the new motor and intake I have in my 76 I dont have any clearance between the hood and the air cleaner and the tiny air cleaner is choking the motor pretty badly. I could cut a hole in the hood and cover it with a cowl but I was wondering if anyone had any other ideas. Thanks for the help.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. EricsZ28

    EricsZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Here and there...
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  3. Black78

    Black78 Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    [​IMG]
     
  4. flowjoe

    flowjoe Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    As suggested try a drop base.

    What intake are you using?
     
  5. Black78

    Black78 Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    The dual intake setup is a pretty cool concept and id love to use it but if your going for nostagia then you want a drop filter with a paper element for sure (if itll fit)
     
  6. flowjoe

    flowjoe Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Location:
    SoCal
    I just realized you have a big a$$ carb spacer in there - could take it out or use a shorter one to give you more options on air cleaner config. Just a thought
     
  7. rusty76

    rusty76 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    Clarksville Tn
    Yeah, the spacer was because the the bore of the carb was different than the manifold. I like the dual filter setup. What company makes that? Ive tried a dropdown but it hit the linkage and fuel line.
     
  8. Steve's 74

    Steve's 74 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Be careful with the drop base. The one I have hit the e-choke housing, so I had to add a 1/2" spacer to raise it up a bit. But I'm now able to use a 14x3 filter and it just fits under the stock hood. (air gap mani and eddy carb)
     
  9. EricsZ28

    EricsZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Here and there...
  10. rusty76

    rusty76 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    Clarksville Tn
    Would that work since the carb is square bore and the manifold is spread bore?
     

Share This Page