Any Woodworkers Here?

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by sandiego74, Apr 26, 2020.

1. sandiego74

sandiego74 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

I don't have much to do to the Camaro right now, so I'm tackling some other projects. Back in Highschool, I built a coffee table that doubly serves as a terrarium. I used a router on the inner diameter of the table top and cut about 1/4" deep and 1/2" wide for a piece of glass to rest in. However, I was an amateur when constructing this, and the dimensions aren't perfectly square, causing the glass to shift around in the extra space by a significant amount.

Is there something I can fill the voids with? I don't want to seal the glass atop the table, as having it lift away makes for cleaning the cage extremely simple. Is there something I can put on the glass, like tape or oil, that will prevent some sort of resin or silicone from sticking to it?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Hope everyone is doing well.

2. xten

xten Veteran Member

I'm not much of a woodworker, but my first thought would be to make a template out of cardboard or something else to fit to your liking and purpose. Then get a new piece of glass cut to those dimensions. Would this be possible, or serve your purpose?

3. sandiego74

I could easily get another piece of glass cut, but I was curious if there was a cheaper solution, is all. I'm probably just going to have to go that route, though.

4. dave@ztech

[email protected] Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

I thought there was , a JB weld type product for wood, and you could use that to fill and then have a go at it again, to get it square,

sandiego74 likes this.
  5. Twisted_Metal

Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

I had a table with a glass top which set into the wood frame.

I used a thin strip (1/8” or so) of 1/2” wide weather stripping (with adhesive back) all around the frame so the glass wouldn’t rock/wiggle.