Craigslist CCW class...yes or no?

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by tlongwel, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. loyal guardian

    loyal guardian Veteran Member

    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Location:
    helena mt
    I moved out of Il because that amongst other reasons. Becareful some classes say no permit fee as its included but then you go get the permit and it cost the regular permit fees. A friend got dupped into that.
     
  2. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    Oh yeah , for the permit fee + the 16 hours of class required in IL you're facing upwards of $375.
    I think $150 or $175 of that is the State fee. :rolleyes:

    The way I see it, I don't care what OTHER states charge
    ......to me it's a small price to pay to be able to defend myself and my family.

    Other states speeding tickets run that much.....
     
  3. ctchap70

    ctchap70 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Fort Necessity, Louisiana
    Louisiana is $100 to instructer & $150 to state for 5 yr permit.
     
  4. wiseryder

    wiseryder Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    100
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    belding,mi USA
    Here in Michigan , its about 250 for it all
    5 yr permit
    I've had mine about a yr now
     
  5. loyal guardian

    loyal guardian Veteran Member

    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Location:
    helena mt
    DD-214 + $50 Mine was at my house in 4 days.
     
  6. David79Z28

    David79Z28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Location:
    Greenville, TX
    In Texas you can find classes anywhere from $55 to $75. State license is $140 for 4 years.
     
  7. 351maverick

    351maverick full time Ebay seller/hustler/car killer

    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    606
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    erie, PA
    here it's $26 (cash lol) for 5 years, no class....license arrives in 7 days

    anyone legal can open carry

    did I mention how much I LOVE Pennsylvania?
     
  8. Lowend

    Lowend Administrator. .a car, a man, a maraca. Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    16,457
    Likes Received:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 1999
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    It's probably the Utah class, which requires no live fire
     
  9. B.M.

    B.M. Veteran Member

    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus,Ohio
    Yeah,class is required here in Ohio,unless you are or have been in the military,or law enforcement.$50 isn't too far off from what it is here around Columbus,most i have seen is $75-$100,but have seen specials like that where on a certain date,it will be a better price.Just make sure they are doing the whole course for that price.You will need 8 hours of class time,and 4 hours of range time.Also keep in mind,that fee doesn't cover the state fees for the application,that's an extra fee that you'll have to pay to the sherriff's dept. or courthouse depending on where you goto apply.
     
  10. K5JMP

    K5JMP Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,216
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Location:
    MORTUORUM VENATOR - Z.R.T.
    In Virginia you can take an online firearms safety course...
    then file for your permit. $50 filing fee... good for 5 yrs.

    some states require classroom instruction.. and some even require you qualify at a range.
    fees vary...
     

Share This Page