Cutting floor for t-56 swap?

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by Zedzag, Apr 26, 2009.

  1. Zedzag

    Zedzag Veteran Member

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
    For those of you with LS1/t-56 swaps and t-56 trans only swaps, who had to cut up the floor/trans tunnel and who didn't? Please list wether you've used things that influenced the need to cut or not like body bushings, engine placement, etc.
     
  2. badazz81z28

    badazz81z28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    19,914
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Alabama

    I did just the trans swap in my 78Z. The transmission is longer than a Muncie and T-10 so making a hole is guaranteed! I also had to cut a little more on the driver side so the tunnel cleared the reverse light pigtale. Your going to cut...whats your concern?
     
  3. Zedzag

    Zedzag Veteran Member

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
    I'm not concerned really and I'm prepared to cut. I've just heard some didn't and was wondering what they may have done differently
     
  4. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    20,571
    Likes Received:
    1,705
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    Who didn't have to cut to get a t56 in?
     
  5. Zedzag

    Zedzag Veteran Member

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
    I can't remember exactly who but I'm sure some said they didn't. I thought maybe they would chime in...if they're out there.
     
  6. Mizzouri

    Mizzouri Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Using the Edelbrock mounts with the GM clamshells I had to cut the floor.
     
  7. mwhizard

    mwhizard Veteran Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.,Canada
    I didn't have to cut more than a shifter hole. I am not using the reverse lockout solenoid though. I made my own trans cross member. I have the subframe body mount eliminators as well.
     
  8. Zedzag

    Zedzag Veteran Member

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver,B.C.,Canada
    What mounts/pan did you use?

    I was just on Todd80Z28's website and he also only listed cutting a shifter hole.
     
  9. WMCC Doug

    WMCC Doug Veteran Member

    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Location:
    Wyoming, MI
    I had to cut the shifter hole longer (towards the rear) to clear the shifter. Mine was an original 4 speed car. Used stock engine mounts and ATS trans cross member. No other cutting (or hammering) required.
     
  10. BLUE72CAMARO

    BLUE72CAMARO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    270
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Bunker Hill, IL
    Had to cut a shifter hole on mine as well but that was it!
     

Share This Page