Does anyone know how to find production volumes for 1972 Camaros built after the mid-model year change that added the 3 point seat belt system?

FredWeber

May 5, 2022
I have a post mid-year change Z-28 and am wondering how many were built since there were only 2575 total Z-28 built in 1972. My VIN is in the low 160000's and I purchased the car new.

FredWeber

May 5, 2022
Gary,
Thanks! I looked through a printout of that info 4 or 5 times and still missed the production by month. Unfortunately I do not know the change implementation date. I factory ordered my car and the features were a surprise when it showed up at the dealer. Back then I was a GMI co-op student (General Motors Institute now Kettering University) and I was able to get a phone number to call the production scheduling group at Norwood and get the car expedited before the strike hit.

My car is unusual in that it is the THM-400 and Spring Green (a 1972 only GM color) with White stripes and of course the mid-model year changes. Only one time did I ever see another Z-28 wearing the same colors and that was from a distance.
Camaro Side View.jpg

unrestored72Z

Veteran Member
Feb 17, 2000
Sacramento, CA
Gary,
Thanks! I looked through a printout of that info 4 or 5 times and still missed the production by month. Unfortunately I do not know the change implementation date. I factory ordered my car and the features were a surprise when it showed up at the dealer. Back then I was a GMI co-op student (General Motors Institute now Kettering University) and I was able to get a phone number to call the production scheduling group at Norwood and get the car expedited before the strike hit.

My car is unusual in that it is the THM-400 and Spring Green (a 1972 only GM color) with White stripes and of course the mid-model year changes. Only one time did I ever see another Z-28 wearing the same colors and that was from a distance. View attachment 140371