firewall black & blue wire with flat connector

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Rusty Mc, May 12, 2020.

  1. Rusty Mc

    Rusty Mc New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Could someone please help me identify a firewall black and blue wires with a 2 post flat connector? It's located around the green wires for the temperature sensor on the passenger side. 1970 Z28 Camaro Thanks
     
  2. dave@ztech

    dave@ztech Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,530
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    picture would help, is the windshield washer pump and wipers all pluged in?
     
  3. Gary S

    Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    23,590
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 1999
    Location:
    Bismarck, North Dakota
  4. Rusty Mc

    Rusty Mc New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Sorry I'm not sure how to post a picture .
    Thanks for both of the replies i will check these out.
     
  5. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    19,877
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    [​IMG]


    Pass side
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Rusty Mc

    Rusty Mc New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Yes that looks like my plug but with a blue wire instead of the green. I'm missing the TCS sensor
    does it mean throttle control sensor? thanks again
     
  7. Gary S

    Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    23,590
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 1999
    Location:
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    TCS is transmission controlled spark. A switch in the tranny controls vacuum advance to the distributor for better emissions.
     
  8. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    19,877
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Switch on Muncie
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. 71Z28RS

    71Z28RS Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    So.. are they (tcs ) required on a non stock car ....
    ...copo’s car is stock (pretty much :cool: )
    But let’s say a car like mine , not stock intake or carb - 4 speed Muncie ...

    Should it be disconnected if
    Not required ??
     
  10. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    19,877
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    My smog pump is seized so I removed the pump and the pipes going into the manifolds and bypassed the vacuum switch on the intake and just ran a hose from the dizzy can to full manifold vacuum and left the rest connected. After 50 yrs, half of this stuff probably doesn’t even work.
     
    71Z28RS likes this.

Share This Page