Fuel pressure?

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by smallblockchev, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. smallblockchev

    smallblockchev Veteran Member

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Location:
    st michael, mn
    What I mean for stock is factory motor, carb, etc..
     
  2. Coadster32

    Coadster32 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    307
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Milford,CT
    I had the same issue on my Eddy 1406. I bought the eddy mechanical fuel pump, which self regulates at about 5.5psi. (I though it was cleaner than re-routing with an in-line regulator.) Also put on a carb spacer. I think mine got a little heat soaked. Hope this helps out your issue as well.
     
  3. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    29,071
    Likes Received:
    2,127
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    Overloaded... You mean flooded?

    Electric choke?
    My Q-jet will sometimes flood a little bit if you start it up after it sits for 30-45 minutes. (The choke cools down enough to close but the engine doesn't need the choke.)

    Less than 30 mins or more than an hour and it starts perfectly.
     
  4. rchydzik

    rchydzik Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 1999
    Location:
    Colbert, WA USA
    I have had problems with the stock fuel pump putting out too much pressure. I used a Holley regulator and set it to 5psi. No problems since.
     
  5. sschevellefan

    sschevellefan Veteran Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Edelbrock are very sensitive to fuel psi.
     
  6. DFWJ

    DFWJ Veteran Member

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    DFW
    a properly tuned EFI setup would solve the issue
     
  7. sschevellefan

    sschevellefan Veteran Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Yeah at about 5X the cost too. A properly tuned carb works just fine.
     
  8. DFWJ

    DFWJ Veteran Member

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    DFW
    Agreed, probably need more than 5 times to do it right.
     
  9. rocket dawg

    rocket dawg Veteran Member

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Mi
    I had fuel pressure issues at one time. And the gas would drain back into the tank after it was warm and then sat for a a bit. I have a 400 ( 406 ) truck engine in my car. I used the truck fuel pump. WRONG. I switched to an AC Delco fuel pump for a camaro and it solved everything. Not all fuel pumps are created equal. I was chasing my tail for months on this issue. A tech for Summit racing suggested I do this before anything else, he said, "not an aftermarket fuel pump, a factory AC Delco pump" He was right. Haven't had an issue since.
     

Share This Page