Gifted a 1979 "Z28"

Connella08

Aug 24, 2020
Massachusetts
Hello everyone,

i am new to the Chevy world but been a long time fan. when working on chevy's on my free time, ive always regarded NastyZ28 as a reputable forum to go to for information. well, now i get to become a participant! let me tell you the story.

i am at my friends house for a regular weekend gaming session when my coworker calls me. she asks me if im interested in picking up a car and sends me photos. i knew immediately that i wanted it. she tells me that its a 1979 Z28 Camaro that has been sitting in a garage for the past 15 years. apparently back around the 2006 timeframe, my now former coworker (she didnt work with us very long) was driving the car around and the carburetor caught fire. they were able to extinguish the flame and got the car home, but they took the whole driveline out of the car. her brother was going to school to be a mechanic, so they got him to bring the engine and carburetor into school so they could go through it, learn from it, refresh it, send it back home, and put it back in the car. well, apparently her father unfortunately passed away from cancer so the car just sat since he was the driving force behind the project. she ultimately had to move the car since the garage was literally falling down around it and she had no where else to put it, so she gave it to me hoping it would go to a good home. i went the following day to pick the car up.