Help....female part of my fusebox is stripped

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Bobby G, Apr 12, 2020.

  1. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    I took the whole wiring harness out and split the fuse box ....there is no t bolt in the fuse block at all. I called american autowire and they said they would have to talk to management on if they would get me a new one as they usually don't sell those.
     
  2. Jim Streib

    Jim Streib https://www.flickr.com/photos/121766713@N04/albums

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO USA
    Now that we know it's from American Autowire, this could make a difference. Not to harp on you but we all need to include as much info as we can when asking a question. I wrongly assumed it was an original fuse block and had no idea it was from America Autowire.

    If you can, take some good quality pictures of the fuse block apart and where the missing T nut should be and post them up. All I have is original fuse block pictures. Aftermarkets are probably different.

    I would think a "T" nut would be available from just about any hardware store. Like anything else they would have to be sized right. I used them many a time for subwoofer mountings in enclosures.

    Jim
     
  3. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Hi Jim....in my original post it says american autowire....sorry for the confusion....I looked at the back and it actually looks like the nut youposted a picture of by the marks on the fuse block
     
  4. Jim Streib

    Jim Streib https://www.flickr.com/photos/121766713@N04/albums

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO USA
    Yep, it sure does. I guess I glossed over that :) I'm getting old don't you know. My bad.

    I kinda wonder if at some point it either fell out, got pushed out and now is missing or was never in there and quality control missed it and shipped it out.

    Jim
     
  5. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Lol.....well the beauties who worked on this car before I got it must have knocked it out....there are marks there that u can see where there was one....American Auto wire called me back and is sending me the time bolt....they have been great to work with on this hot mess.
     
  6. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    T bolt
     
  7. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Got the nut....all set...thanks for the advise
     
  8. Jim Streib

    Jim Streib https://www.flickr.com/photos/121766713@N04/albums

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO USA
    Cool.

    Maybe run the nut on by hand to the bolt to make sure the threads are not messed up on either part. You know how murphy works is who knows if the bolt is metric and the nut is english.

    Jim
     
  9. Bobby G

    Bobby G Veteran Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y.
    That's what I did....it's installed in the car now...Thanks for all the replies
     
  10. budro6968

    budro6968 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    3,728
    Likes Received:
    688
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Jax Florida

Share This Page