How to - Headlight Relays

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by BonzoHansen, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. earnhardtgm3

    earnhardtgm3 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    Camaro Country,GA
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
  2. falloutboy

    falloutboy Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,283
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Grafenberg, Baden-W├╝rttemberg, Germany
    u might now wanna check the beam pattern and orientation of the headlights, to get the most out of it, and don't blind oncomming traffic.
     
  3. daniel76309

    daniel76309 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    Niceville, Florida
    Mickstan and earnhardtgm3, you may want to consider an alternate location for your relays. Where they are, they are going to get rained on, which could eventually cause problems.
    How do I know?--I made the mistake of mounting a fan controller (which was supposedly waterproof) in a similar location. I think if relays see a lot of water, they may in time have problems also.
     
  4. mickstan

    mickstan Veteran Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    E'ville, IL
    Thanks for the heads-up Daniel! But that is no worry for me, my car hasn't seen a real rain since 1992!
     
  5. Leonards78LT

    Leonards78LT Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Location:
    Central Oklahoma
    Mine too. I wish I would have done this years ago. I already had my fuel pump power being feed off the battery output of the alternator and 10 ga. wire back to the pump itself, inside of the wimpy 14 ga. that is normally used.
     
  6. hot72rod

    hot72rod Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    Phenix City Al / Columbus Ga
    Old thread I know, but one question. Is this for the stock head lights or for aftermarket head lights like one that uses the H4 bulbs?
     
  7. 73 Z

    73 Z Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    I would say it's for anything that's ran through a switch. Headlights, pumps, windows, etc. Stock or aftermarket.
     
    falloutboy likes this.
  8. COPO

    COPO Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    20,375
    Likes Received:
    2,163
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    You can use it on stock lights to releave the work on the head light switch.
    E80B8136-7F70-4454-88DB-AA8A5C653DDD.jpeg A099A740-93EA-461C-B742-7259A9871078.jpeg
     
    Rene Melten likes this.

Share This Page